You are here

CHAPBOOKS

  • Chapbooks are works of popular literature, sold for a few pence, often by itinerant pedlars or "chapmen," which were in circulation from the sixteenth to the nineteenth centuries. Typical of chapbooks of this era, the stories are often condensed versions of well-known tales. Ranging in content from romances, adventure stories, fairy tales and moral tales, to songs and verses, most of the stories are accompanied by illustrations and engravings in both black and white and color, including some engravings by the Cruikshanks.

    Princeton's collections include 36 bound volumes of chapbooks, each volume of which contains several of these popular 19th-century booklets. The volumes are located in the General Rare Books Department [(Ex) 3580.999]. The collection has several famous tales such as Cinderella, Robinson Crusoe, Jack the Giant Killer, and Red Riding Hood as well as lesser-known selections in the vein of Helen Beresford, Or the Child of Misfortune and Moral Tales in Verse: Calculated to Please and Instruct Young Children.

    Chapbooks are also found in the Cotsen Children's Library, and in the Graphic Arts Collection.

Research Tools for Printed Material (Books, Maps, Prints, etc.)

Related Collections in Finding Aids